Error when adding profile to Color Mgmt Page

Caillah

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have a Canon Pixma 4200. I have been unable to associate the color profile for the Canon printer papers. I am currently using the Canon Matte Photo Paper and when I attempt to add the profile to the Color Management page I get this:
Microsoft Color Management System Error:
Windows failed to associate the profile 'CNB78DBA.ICM' with the device 'Display: Ben Q FP202W (Digital) - Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS'. the printer name is invalid. This is the same for all paper options.

At this point in time my profile is linked to my monitor the Ben Q FP202W and so I expected to see the color of the print closer to the color seen on the camera and on the screen. I have done "by eye" calibration both with online programs and with the Corel PSP Photo XP calibration but still the colors are too red/brassy and not as crisp as it should be. I am an amateur and can't at this point purchase an expensive calibration machine so getting it as "close as possible" is all I can go for. I also have an Invidia GeForce 8800 GTS graphic card and am wondering if I should be taking that into account.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

I use Corel Photo XP and I am able to print from all programs. It is just that I am unable to load the profiles that are associated with the Canon Printer and the particular paper I am using.

Not all photos are very far off from the picture as it appears on the monitor but occasionally in some unique lighting situations the photo appears too red or brassy (outdoor scene, not indoors with artificial light). I have attempted to make changes in everything from the printer display screen to the print options in Corel and I still seem to be getting the same actual print.

I use Corel Photo XP and I am able to print from all programs. It is just that I am unable to load the profiles that are associated with the Canon Printer and the particular paper I am using.