Even More Confused - First SLR

porkchop

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
First off, I'm a noob at photography and have only had p&s cameras in the past. I just had a baby girl recently and would like to get a nice camera to capture some of the precious memories of her growing up. Being a noob at this I want a model that isn't too intimidating, but at the same time I learn pretty quick and don't want to grow out of a entry level model too quick. After looking and researching a lot lately I think I've narrowed my choices down to a few models. From what I've read, they all will give me the quality pictures I want but can anyone comment on the kits and if the lens packages are worth it? I also live on a lake and a telephoto lens would be nice to capture the wildlife I can't get real close to.

Nikon D5000 kit with the 18-55 lens - $700
D5000 kit w/18-55 & 55-200 VR - $850

Canon T2I kit w/18-55 - $850
T2I kit w/18-55 & 55-250 IS - $1000

I also saw a link yesterday to a new Nikon D90 (body only) for $780 and I could probably pick up the 18-55 lens for about $100 or less and the zoom for $150 (both refurbished) for a total of $1030

Right now I'm leaning toward the T2i kit with both lenses, just not sure if the 55-250 lens is one that I'll like or if I should put that extra $150 toward a different lens. I also like the T2i because of the better video capability, however, the 720p of the D5000, and D90 may be enough.

What do you guys think makes a better package deal here?

IMO go with D5000 kit w/18-55 & 55-200 VR - $850

While this DSLR is missing some things experienced SLR users would expect its a great first SLR.

The images it takes are awesome.
Has scene modes just like the P&S you are used to.
Rear screen has a great display and easy to use menus.
I love the fold in screen. Helps with battery life and keeps the screen safe when not in use.