Exasperation, frustration, intimidation

I

Iron Flatline

Bit of rant...

I have been shooting for 25+ years... though in fairness biggest efforts happened between 2001 and 2007. I am now trying out a new direction, and it is the first time since I started that I am intimidated to a point of freezing by the learning curve.

I have decided to shoot models, and to use strobe lights, or better yet to combine it with ambient light.

On one hand I've been looking at a lot of fashion magazines, but have decided to back down because those photographers have twenty years of experience that I will not make up in the near future.

But even looking at the Strobist pool on Flickr (well, some of them), or some photographers on Model Mayhem or Model Kartei (I live in Berlin) is daunting.

I am overwhelmed by a lot of it... how to work with models, how to come up with the right ideas, how to set up certain shots. I feel incredibly limited by the lighting, instead of feeling freed by it... though I'm ok with that part. The idea is to learn it, after all... I look at a lot of shots and wonder "how the f#%k am I going to do something like that?"

I don't seek or expect answers to a problem I haven't expressed yet... I just wanted to share with a few photographers in a community I know.

Bah... it's going to be a long year...

Rarely is there ever a time in which you're the greatest. There's almost always people who are better than you. If we got caught in this sort of thinking, we'd be overwhelmed by everything. I say be humble, dive right in, and do it. All of these people sucked at one point.

Anyway, is it possible to apprentice/assist on a shoot so you can get an idea of what a good photographer does in these situations? Can you practice with your wife, kids, friends, family, etc.?

Anyway, hopefully this helps.