Experienced Wedding Photographers - How Much Did You Make on Prints?

Discussion in 'General Shop Talk' started by astrostu, Sep 22, 2009.

1. astrostu

astrostu I shoot for the stars

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I've been hanging out here for a few years now and have read all the threads arguing whether or not to give clients the digital files, how much to charge, the pros and cons of the business model, how to adjust the business model (like charging more up-front), etc.

This thread is related to that, but not directly addressing it: Before digital got going, how much would you typically make on prints? I was going to ask this as a poll, but that may be difficult. If you can't answer with a dollar amount, what about as a percentage of your "package" cost? That latter version may be more relevant due to inflation.

2. JIP

JIP No longer a newbie, moving up!

I have only done a few weddings on my own (outside of the people I worked for) but I have to think now that prints are a tough sell. I would imagine you really can't trust peiople to do the right thing with such high quality scanners available to anyone it is too easy to go the cheap way. I guess it depends on your clientele but I think if you are just starting or independent just setting up a package that includes an initial set of prints is the way to go but do not go cheap initially with the hopes of selling a million prints after the fact.

3. astrostu

astrostu I shoot for the stars

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Well, I am working on setting up my own pricing structure, and I am including print credit in a package, but I really do mean this in a more general sense so that when the inevitable thread pops up in a few months (like the one that did today) asking if you should give the client digital copies, I can send 'em to this. I'm also just generally curious.

Last edited: Sep 22, 2009
  4. rub

rub TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit