Experts: How do you get pics to look like this?

photogirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, everyone,

I'm a total newbie to photography, and I've been looking through a lot of photographs to get a feel for different photographers' techniques. I came across this series of photographs in a book, and I like the style a lot. How is it done? Someone said they might be on Polaroid film?

-Can someone guess the set-up (lighting, camera, film) to a beginner?
-What's a good camera/film for a beginner to start experimenting in this kind of look?
-Oh, and one more question: Can this look be replicated with a digital camera - if so, how? Thank you!

http://i1.tinypic.com/ne7py0.jpg

http://i1.tinypic.com/ne7pyr.jpg

http://i1.tinypic.com/ne7pzq.jpg

The first and third are just using available light, the second is using an onboard flash. From the shape of the photos, I would confidently wager that they're 35mm SLR film camera shots. I'm not really in a position to judge the film - the pictures look a little low in contrast and colour from your captures, but the book doesn't necessarily look like this I presume.

I don't wish to sound harsh, but I don't actually percieve any style in these shots whatsoever. The first is a little clumsily composed, the second very unflattering and the third looks like someone's holiday photo.

What do you mean about the style: is it the content, arrangement, composition, lighting, grain, contrast, colour, subject?

Rob

1) windowlight
2) direct flash
3) overcast day

I don't see a particular reason to like them either.

I'm with the others. They look like they're from the William Eggleston school of composition. :p

Other than that, the only thing I can see in common is the low contrast and saturation.