Exposure around the sprocket holes

oa123

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm fairly new to developing B&W (been doing my own film for about a year) and I've recently noticed a consistent phenomenon with my film that is happening across multiple types of film, multiple cameras and multiple 2 reel developing tanks. I get what I think are exposure markings around the sprockets which usually only occur during the first 5 - 10 frames or so (they do not appear on the rest of the roll). Thoughts?

Exposure markings around sprocket holes

Looks like light leak. Could be camera back, could be film developing canister (lid), but my first reaction is it's happening in camera.

Joe

Looks like light leak. Could be camera back, could be film developing canister (lid), but my first reaction is it's happening in camera.

Joe

I thought this too, but it's been happening consistently with multiple cameras (I develop for a few friends as well and it's happened on their rolls). I also have three different 2-reel developing canisters (different brands/models) and it's happened with all of them.

Also the film looks to have heavy chemical staining. You might want to check your processing technique.

Looks like light leak.

I don't think so. It looks more like the developing reel is not allowing for proper chemical movement.

Also the film looks to have heavy chemical staining. You might want to check your processing technique.

This may also be the case. Improper or not enough agitation during the development.

Looks like a light leak to me. In frame 0A it appears to reach into the image itself.

If this same, exact thing is occurring with different cameras, they I would look at your developing tank (plastc lid??) or a safelight in the darkroom or a GraLab timer (glow-in-the-dark painted dial) in the darkroom, or a tiny light leak in the room or area where you are loading the film development reels.