exposure & shutter speed

jclay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I’ve just inherited a Ricoh 35 ZP, my first analogue camera, and I’m pretty clueless about the exposure & shutter speed settings. Can anyone point me towards a beginner’s guide to selecting the best settings depending on the light conditions?

From what I have found out so far, it seems that I should select the shutter speed to match the film I buy (I’ve been recommended to buy ISO 400, so my shutter speed would be the next one up – 500). And then the exposure setting depends on the amount of light – 16 for a sunny day, going down to 5.6 for overcast/indoors. Does that sound about right??

Like I said, I’m very new to this, so I’d really appreciate any links you can give me, or any other general tips about analogue photography!!! J

Overcast would be around f/5.6 at a shutter speed that's the reciprocal of the film ISO, so f/5.6 at 1/100 second with an ISO 100 film under overcast skies would be about right. But overcast/indoors is a huge misnomer: "indoors" is typically much darker and dimmer than outdoor overcast! Indoors is more likely to be something like 1/8 second at f/2.8 with an ISO 100 film!

Best low-cost solution for a meterless camera? Procure a light metering app for your smart phone, and use the settings it suggests after you light meter the scenes youi want to photograph.

There are not many tips except: support the camera well, focus accurately, and pre-plan as many shots as will allow pre-planning

.............From what I have found out so far, it seems that I should select the shutter speed to match the film I buy (I’ve been recommended to buy ISO 400, so my shutter speed would be the next one up – 500).........

That's only a starting point. If you're shooting ISO 400 and set your shutter speed to 1/500 at f/16, you can then change the shutter speed & aperture to the following possibilities (depending on what you want the final image to look like):

1/1000 @ f/11
1/2000 @ f/8
1/4000 @ f/5.6