exposure?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Simonch, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. Simonch

    Simonch TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I Live in Stonehaven, which is located in the Nort
    Hey folks,

    Was away out to try and shoot an HDR shot for the first time.... cant seem to figure out the settings on my 350d tho, if i shoot in aperture or shutter priority, it just adjusts the other so that the exposure is always correct, and if shooting in fully manual, i cant seem to adjust the exposure at all!! grr... so confused! if you could help, this would be great!

    cheers
     
  2. Flash Harry

    Flash Harry TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    1 expose for the highlights = the sky/brightest part of an image
    2 expose for the shadows = darkest part of an image you need info from
    3 one correct exposure of the overall scene.

    so one under exposed, one overexposed and one correct. Then do what you do in pp. H
     
  3. Coldow91

    Coldow91 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I would suggest that you read about manual mode in your manual.
     
  4. Simonch

    Simonch TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    I Live in Stonehaven, which is located in the Nort
    yeah coldow, couldnt find it!! managed to rake it out and found out a bit more of what i was needing! thanks guys
     
  5. Sideburns

    Sideburns TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    If you're using a Canon...you use the dial to adjust the shutter speed in manual...and if you push the Av button on the right side of the screen, and move the dial, then you can change the aperture.

    I'm not sure what you mean by "exposure" in that post...

    Go to your menu and turn on AEB (auto exposure bracketing) to whatever spread you want... like +1 and -1 stop or +2 and -2 stops.. and then just click the shutter 3 times and bingo...you got three shots.
     
  6. Coldow91

    Coldow91 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Glad you found what you needed! I would have told you the way to do it if I knew but I have a nikon.
     
  7. RyanLilly

    RyanLilly No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri, USofA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    When shooting for HDR, you should also keep the same f-stop for each exposure, that way DOF is not changed. Use manual mode and adjust shutter speed.
     

Share This Page