Exsposure question??

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by chris82, Nov 13, 2006.

  1. chris82

    chris82 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Belfast Ireland, just off the cavehill
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    How do I change the exposure on canon 350?Is the exsposure the aperture?
     
  2. W.Smith

    W.Smith TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    The exposure is the combination of f-stop (aperture) and shutter speed. Change either and you change the exposure.
     
  3. chris82

    chris82 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Belfast Ireland, just off the cavehill
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Cool,Im going to try my hand at HDR so I was just cheaking how to change the exsposure,Thanks again
     
  4. benhasajeep

    benhasajeep TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Eddington, ME
    ISO setting, shutter speed, and aperature are the 3 controls for exposure.

    Are you trying to control the Aperature? Thats what determines how much of the shot is in sharp focus (controls DOF - depth of field)?

    In Aperature mode allows you to pick the lens aperature and the camera will set the shutter to expose at what its meter determines to be propper exposure.

    Or are you talking about exposure compensation, to adjust the settings to under or over expose a shot beyond what the camera meter says to do?

    Exposure compensation is a setting you input that over rides the cameras meter. You can tell it for example to overexpose the shot by 1 stop, or 1/2 stop, or under expose by 1 stop, or 1/2 stop. There are many combinations.
     
  5. W.Smith

    W.Smith TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    For HDR you need to precisely meter different parts of your intended image (foreground, subject, sky, etc.) and make an exposure of your whole composition at each of those settings. Keep the camera rocksteady! In PP you merge those different exposures.
     
  6. Arch

    Arch Damn You! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    8,487
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    locked in the attic
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    before you attempt HDR... you should know that you should only change the shutter speed.. not the apature for taking HDR exposures.

    The easiest way, is to expose for the brightest part of the image, then drop down two stops.... then two more... and so on...

    HDR is trickier than it sounds... especially getting the local adaption right... its all too easy to get a flat looking image....

    Also be sure that the subject requires HDR... it can quite often be used unnesessarily.....

    But good luck...and have fun learning.
     
  7. chris82

    chris82 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Belfast Ireland, just off the cavehill
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Im going to try hdr so I want to know how to keep the same dof in three difrent shots but to change the exsposure.
     
  8. Arch

    Arch Damn You! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    8,487
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    locked in the attic
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    thats why you must only change shutter speed and not apature. ;)
     
  9. benhasajeep

    benhasajeep TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Eddington, ME
    Yes use manual mode with aperature set at the same value for all the pictures. And a tripod. And when you meter, use spot metering. You can do it without metering but need to take more pictures and work with more. You can meter in aperature mode at your given lens setting you want to use. Say f/11. The camera meter will give you say 1/125. Now go to manual mode and keep your f/11 aperature set. Take a series of pictures by changing just the shutter speed. From severly under exposed (fast shutters) to severly over exposed (slow shutters). You can do it in aperature mode (I do it with exposure compensation in aperature mode).
     
  10. chris82

    chris82 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Belfast Ireland, just off the cavehill
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Cheers w.and arch Ill take that on board.
     

Share This Page