Extender for Canon with Tamron lens

msmaslady

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have read that I cannot use the Canon extender with a Tamron lens. Can someone please recommend an extender for a Canon XSi with a Tamron 28-300 lens.

Thank you.

Do you want a teleconverter or extension tubes?

If you are looking for a teleconverter, I think Tamron makes one or more. I've got an older 2X TC that was made by Tamron (or maybe Sigma).

Take note however, that using a Teleconverter with that lens will incapacitate your autofocus.

It is a teleconverter I am asking about, sorry for the confusion....I am new at this.

Why would the autofocus not work, is this always the case with teleconverters or is it something to do with the 28-300 lens?

Teleconverters won't work on a lens with a max apeture of smaller than f5.6 unless you are using a 1D series camera body - and then you can use a lens with a max aperture of f8. Remember that aperture numbers go backwards - so the max aperture is the smallest f number that the lens can reach.
When you attach your current lens your max aperture is f5.6 (at the long end) and when you add a 1.4Teleconverter you lose one stop of light - so your lens goes down one stop (to f8 I think is the next stop down) and so you lose your abilty to use AF.
This is a feature put in because even if you could use the AF at that aperture the camera would have too little light getting through, so most times that AF speed would be slow and it would be very likley to spend a lot of time hunting and not getting a lock.

Note that some 3rd party lenses do have max apertures of 6.3 without a teleconverter, but they get round this by not reporting their aperture to the camera - so it never knows.