External storage device?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by D40, Oct 22, 2007.

  1. D40

    D40 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Well, I just got a 160Gb external hard drive and I want to know the best way to use itL:) I have two options:

    1. I can put lightroom on my computer and then use the external drive as a back up drive spacifically for Pictures

    2. I can put lightroom and all my picture stuff on the external hard drive and keep it seperate from my main computer drive and turn it on only when I need to upload and edit pictures.

    I want to keep my picture stuff away from my C drive to keep it as free from corruption as possible. What do you guys do? Thanks
     
  2. Sw1tchFX

    Sw1tchFX TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    7,500
    Likes Received:
    478
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    use it to back up important files.
     
  3. keith204

    keith204 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bolivar, MO
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'd put lightroom in your C drive in your computer.. it will run a bit faster (just a bit) and keep your 160gb drive dedicated to photos.

    However, every once in awhile, backup your photos to another media (dvds for instance). Hard drives are the first things to go bad in computers. They have moving parts, that's why. I am a tech repair hobbyist in my community, and 90% of the non-working computers people bring in have bad hard disks, and 90% of those people thought about backing up their data, but didn't.

    So, I'd say:
    -Lightroom on C
    -Back up data (as Sw1tchfx said)
     
  4. WDodd

    WDodd TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amherst (Cleveland), Ohio
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am assuming that D40 would use the external to back up the directory that Lightroom uses not install it there.

    However, here is what I do: I use SyncToy to backup my Pictures folder on my external hard drive. http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/digitalphotography/prophoto/synctoy.mspx

    Its a very handy powertoy if you are using Windows.

    The Mac alternative is iSync (iSurprise right), however, I have no experience with this so I am not sure how easy it is to use.

    And then of course you can always do it manually.
     
  5. usayit

    usayit No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    9,523
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    North New Jersey, United States of America
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    yup...

    (Assuming that your external drive is slower than your internal... like Firewire 400 or USB 2.0.)

    For lightroom, O/S, workspace, you need fast storage. Keep that on your internal (faster) hard drive.

    For storage, keep it on your external. Even better... get two externals and mirror.
     
  6. kundalini

    kundalini Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,601
    Likes Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    State of Confusion
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Soon you may well discover that 160GB fills up quickly. Storage/externals are getting so cheap that you may find it to your benefit to get another (larger) when you find it on sale. I've seen terabytes for less than $400USD. The only recommendation I can give is to go with a reputable manufacturor if you increase storage capacity.
     
  7. keith204

    keith204 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bolivar, MO
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    If you can look around, you'll be able to find a 500 GB external drive for 100 bucks.
     
  8. WDodd

    WDodd TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amherst (Cleveland), Ohio
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You can also make your own external drive and often times its a lot cheaper. Just pick up a external drive and enclosure and an internal HDD plug them together and it works.
     
  9. nossie

    nossie TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'd suggest you don't spend your money this way at all and wait until you can afford something like a Terrastation for hardware failure redundancy
     
  10. sabbath999

    sabbath999 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,694
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Missouri
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    With all this great advice, just remember that there isn't a single one of these devices that will help you if your house burns down and all of your drives are in it... backups need to be taken off site.
     
  11. Milhouse

    Milhouse TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    If you have someone that knows computers have them install a hard drive into your computer. It will be faster and more reliable. I see hard drive enclosures die much faster than internal drives. I'm not sure why but it may be that they are more susceptible to power surges/fluctuations, from either their own power supply or the USB cable.

    Since you need to backup your data, I would use the enclosure as a backup device only, and don't store it near your computer. Leave it in your car or somewhere else. Oh yeah, if you leave it in your car, then for fire prevention, don't park your car in the garage :lmao:.
     
  12. Hertz van Rental

    Hertz van Rental TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    16,728
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Where am I now?
    It works OK.
    I have a LaCie 500Gig d2 Quadra. You can stack four, has every input port known to man and has a small footprint.
    Best of all it comes with SilverKeeper.
    I copy all of my files over using iSync and do an archived backup using SilverKeeper. It's just belt and braces in case of a corrrupt file.
    As I only run the d2 when I'm backing up it has quite a long life expectancy. If it starts to show signs of going then I will just by another and do a transfer.
     

Share This Page