eye training

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Mr B, Dec 23, 2008.

1. Mr B

Mr B TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello all,

I'm new to photography, of course. So far I haven't found it too difficult to learn the technical aspects of my camera. My real challenge is getting my eyes and mind working together. Basically, this means that I want to learn to notice new things about images. I've never had any interest in visual arts until now (I'm 30). I realized one day that my mind greatly simplifies what I see. (I suppose that's necessary for all of us to some degree.) It resists absorbing itself in sensations; it very quickly tosses in concepts like "line," "shape," "color," etc., rather than attending to the images themselves.

Well, ok, all I'm trying to say is that I have a hard time noticing things, and I feel like I've hit a wall. Here are a few of my best pictures (IMO), and I'm real curious to learn what you all notice about them, good or bad. For me, I hope it will serve as eye training so I can learn to see new things. Next, perhaps some aesthetic feeling will rouse in me.

As far as what I notice about them. The colors in photo seem more striking than they were in real life. And I think the exposure and framing are okay. The depth-of-field is too small, but it was all I could do with the light I had. That's about as far as it goes for me right now...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. gsgary

gsgary Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    #1 white balance is out #2 is out of focus always focus on the eyes

3. DavidElliot

DavidElliot TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    yeah i agree, number 2 would have been a good photo if the focus was on the eyes and not the nose

4. OldClicker

OldClicker TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    1 - I find the background very distracting - the up-down multicolored post things and another dog OOF.