Eyepiece cap

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by ShootHoops, Jul 21, 2006.

  1. ShootHoops

    ShootHoops TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    What is the eyepiece cap for? Since I got my Nikon D50, I've been clueless as to how it affects anything. :blushing:
     
  2. clarinetJWD

    clarinetJWD The Naked Spammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,787
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    In very long shutter speed shots, if there is bright light behind the camera, it can reach the sensor via the viewfinder...that being said, I've never used mine either!
     
  3. ShootHoops

    ShootHoops TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Ohh...is that bad thing? hahaha
     
  4. xfloggingkylex

    xfloggingkylex TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    your camera probably has an AE-lock to lock the exposure so you dont have to worry about that.
     
  5. ShootHoops

    ShootHoops TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    It does. Thanks.
     
  6. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It can't reach the sensor. It can reach the meter. So it's only a potential issue if you are using the camera in an auto-exposure mode.
     
  7. clarinetJWD

    clarinetJWD The Naked Spammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,787
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Learn something everyday! Thanks Matt. I don't think I've ever used auto for a serious shot anyways, so... :D
     
  8. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yeah, unless your camera strap has a pocket for the eyepiece cap it's usually the first thing people lose. If they do have a pocket for it, it goes in, and never comes out. :)
     
  9. JamesD

    JamesD Between darkrooms

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Living in Snapshot reality.
    Mine has the eyepiece cap (which is soft rubber) mounted on the strap. It's a Canon thing, I think. However, you have to take the eyecup off the viewfinder in order to use it, and there's no convenient holder for that, and at 13 bucks a pop, I have to make sure I don't lose it LOL.

    The remote-release socket cap is another PITA... it's tiny, and it falls out of the holder on the remote release. I've lost one, but I don't know where to get a new one...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
camera eyepiece cap
,
canon eos eyepiece cover come off
,
canon eos rebel xsi eyepiece cover
,
canon eyepiece cover
,

canon rebel eyepiece cover

,
canon viewfinder cap
,

eyepiece cap

,
eyepiece caps for canon
,
how to put eye piece cover on cannon rebel
,
viewfinder cap canon