Fashion shoot

Reaction score
Im new to this forum, go ahead give me all your criticism... i am a college student studying photography and would love other opinions. :)

One thing that bothers me about these pictures is the shadow.

Taylor2.jpg

TaylorBlack2.jpg

Welcome to the forum.

It's hard to critique more than one image at a time, and it helps to know what you were using and what you were trying to achieve. I think the guidelines for the critique section are in a sticky thread at the top...

As for the shadows, you're right...it would look better without them IMHO.

Nikon D70 was used with Flash. The exposure I cant quite re-call though. These are just some photo's I had to take for a fashion shoot at school and wanted to know what people think of them. I need to pick one of the two.

Yes, and I re-read them. It says one picture unless you are trying to compare them. Like I said im new to this forum... and i apologize.

Welcome to TPF! The shadows are definitely distracting, and using a flash directly vs. bouncing or diffusing is usually not advised. The poses are pretty static and don't really hold my attention for long. What kind of access to lighting/studio equipment do you have? In general, for portrait/glamour photography you want a good lighting ratio, use a strobe to provide most of the light and another to fill in the shadows. It creates greater depth to your portraits. It's not a bad first attempt, and I think you can already see areas that you can improve in which is great! Keep trying, try using nautral light, try bouncing your flash if it's off camera and try experimenting with reflectors as well. Also, visit your library and look through glamour photography books, read Vogue or Vanity Fair and pay close attention to the lighting and posing of the models.

Again, welcome and I look forward to seeing more of your work :D