Faux Bokeh Backdrop - Wacky Idea?

hedonia

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
photo
I have a kind of weird idea floating around in my head, and I'd like to know what you all think of it - feasibility, ideas for making it, reasons why its stupid, etc.

I'm a portrait photographer, and I don't have a studio. I typically travel to the client's home with my portable studio. I specialize in low-key baby photography, and usually do 1/2 hour studio work in front of a black backdrop, and I like to do the other half outside, with a very shallow DOF.

Now, I live in NY, and for a good chunk of the year it is too cold for outdoor portraits. When it finally warms up enough, it tends to be too drab to get a nice bright green bokeh.

Here's the crazy idea:
What if I bought some heavy fabric, and using green, yellow and white paint, painted a backdrop that recreated a bokeh pattern? I googled this and looked through various backdrop sellers, but didn't find anything even close. My idea is to make smudgy circles of the various colors, using a few photographs with a nice green bokeh as a guide. In order for it to not look too fake, I would #1 use a backdrop light, and #2 really knock down the strobes and shoot with a shallow DOF, with the family a good distance from the backdrop.

Now, does this sound nuts? Will it look crummy? Will it be too hard to make? Are there any pitfalls to painting your own backdrop? (I know that cracking and flaking can be a problem). Any input you guys have would be immensely helpful. I don't want to spend a lot of time making this, only for it to be a total bust.

photo

photo

When you say bokeh what exactly do you mean? Like general bluriness or like the circles. If its just blurryness you can do that in PP.

you could zoom in and just purposely shoot out of focus kinda like a panoramic and then stitch em together and get a huge print, just an idea.. now that i think about it, that would be VERY expensive lol