FD Teleconvertor to double your zoom?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Peldor, Sep 13, 2004.

  1. Peldor

    Peldor TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I have been looking around on Ebay and see FD Teleconcertor adaptor that doubles your zoom by attaching between the camra and the lens. I would think this would work but at the expence of sharpness and contrast (also you probobly would lose a few F stops. So what do you guys think? Anyone ever use somthing like this?
     
  2. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Assuming you have a Canon with an FD mount, yes they work ok. Like you mentioned you will sacrifice something, but if you have really nice glass a TC is often very usable. I'm not familiar with Canon FD mount lenses and accessories, but many people use a 1.4x TC with the EF 70-200mm f/4 and f/2.8 and say there is no visible loss of quality.
     
  3. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You typically lose 1 stop with a x1.4 teleconverter, and 2 stops with a x2 teleconverter. Teleconverters are usually designed to work with focal lengths 200mm and greater. With a good lens and a good teleconverter image quality still remains very high.

    I've seen photos (on the web, not prints) of a photographer who stacks 3 and 4 teleconverters together to get extreme focal lengths. I'm sure the manufacturers wouldn't recommend this, but I thought it was interesting.
     
  4. Peldor

    Peldor TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    So with a canon 70-210mm zoom it would be ok to use a doubler if i take the Fstop loss into consideration?
     
  5. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yes and there's no need to keep the fstop loss in consideration, because the TC's maintain full ttl metering, although depending on what lens and camera you use, you may not have autofocus or IS.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
double your camera zoom
,
double your lens
,

double your lens zoom

,

double your zoom

,
how can double your lens
,
how how double ur zoom on camera
,
how to double the zoom of your lens
,

how to double your zoom

,
how to double zoom on camera
,
lense to double the zoom on camera