julie32

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.juliestarkphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,

As a photographer just starting a new business photographing children (candidly, ie. not in a studio) how can I learn what to charge? I understand it depends on where one is located (I'm in NYC). Many other children's photographers don't post their pricing/fees etc. I know this is a subjective question, but I wanted to get some feedback. I'm an advanced beginner. You can check out my website if you want to see the kinds of images I shoot before offering advice. www.juliestarkphotography.com.

I appreciate any type of response, even if it's "your photos suck, you can't make money, get better."

Thanks!
julie

Your photos suck, you cant make money - charge less!

I dunno, charge what YOU think is fair. Think about what you're going to put into the process, your own elvaluation of your skill and the competition that exists in your labor market. With a service like this, where it may not be your primacy source of income, you'll have latitude in what you can charge and some flexibility in negotiations.

Good luck.

PS - nice web layout. Too many times I've seen folks with cool pictures, and the website just KILLS any level of professionalism on their part.

img_9437.jpg

Nice. Me and that lil guy are gonna have words. . .

LOL, thank you! I was in the Dominican Republic and I was traveling around town and I saw this little guy on a motorcycle. I thought just THAT was going to be cute and then he did THAT! Hysterical.

Thanks for the help.

Search other photographers who are offering a similar service and use that as a guide for where to start. Don't undervalue yourself...if you are good...then charge for it. In NYC, there is probably the full gamut from free to tens of thousands of dollars...so you will probably be somewhere in between ;)