Fiilter recommendations

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by BasilFawlty, Oct 23, 2012.

1. BasilFawlty

BasilFawlty New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Newbie here with my first real DSLR camera. I just bought a Canon 7D with a 28-135mm lens. I want to purchase a UV filter and a polarizer (72mm). I want good quality but don't want to spend a fortune either. (I'm a hobbiest who wants to learn and get better, not a professional shooting for National Geographic) I went to a local Camera shop and the Polarizers in that size ranged in price from $35 - over $200! Ok, so what should I look for in buying filters from my new 7D? Any recommendations or sources for good deals on reasonably good-quality filters?

Thanks in advance,

Basil

2. Scuba

Scuba New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
  3. TCampbell

TCampbell Well-Known Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,052 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Whether or not you use a "UV filter" is up to you. Just be aware that the _only_ reason to use a "UV filter" is to offer some form of protection for your glass (and there are consequences for this.) One reason that you should definitely NOT use a UV filter is to block UV light. Your camera already has a UV filter in it. It also has an IR filter.

If you were to remove the lens, and use the menus to put the camera into a manual sensor cleaning mode (in that mode it will lock the mirror up and hold the shutter open so you can inspect the sensor), what you are actually looking at (what your finger would touch if you tried to touch the sensor) is actually two filters located in front of the sensor.

This is required for digital cameras because a digital sensor is sensitive to more wavelengths of light than film. The filters constrain the wavelengths of light that can pass so that the sensor can only "see" human visible light.