film scanning.

bruca003

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I have been searching all week for what seemed to be a simple solution. I am new to film and no longer want to pay blacks $40 for 48 exposures. I am looking to buy a film scanner.
My main question is, once I use up a 24 roll of film and rewind it, at this point is where I am stuck..
Do I,
Remove the film using a film retriever and start scanning?
Or,
Do I need to still have film developed by blacks and then scan?
If the second option here is the way to go then what's the point!!
I'm still paying blacks?
..... and perhaps time to invest into a dark room?

Many thanks in advance..
Nick.

You will need to get the film developed ... you can do this yourself. B&W film is easier than Colour negative film.
B&W film chemistry is not that expensive, you just need a dark room/bag to load the film into the developing canister and everything else can be done in the light close to a sink/running water.

That's how I shoot film. B&W only. Develop myself. Negative scanner.

You still have to dev the negatives. If you are shooting bw the darkroom investment will be minimal compared to the scanner.

After the film is exposed, it must be developed. Either by a commercial lab or you can do it yourself. It costs about $150 CD to get all the stuff you need to develop B&W film yourself.

After that, you can have it scanned commercially or buy a scanner and do that yourself as well.

After the film is exposed, it must be developed. Either by a commercial lab or you can do it yourself. It costs about $150 CD to get all the stuff you need to develop B&W film yourself.

After that, you can have it scanned commercially or buy a scanner and do that yourself as well.
And this is what I recommend if you're going to be shooting a lot of film.

I would say that the "break even point" is 20 rolls. That is, after 20 rolls, you will be spending more by sending it out than you would have spent developing yourself.