Film to Digital?

stormbind

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As some of you know I just started shooting medium format. Anyway I am considering selling my medium format camera and getting a digital. I would very much like to take macro pictures and I don't beleive that my current camera will do this.

My question is do digital cameras offer the resolution of a medium format camera? Can I make as large prints that are sharp and crisp with a digital camera?

I am sure that there are lots of people out there that have made the switch and I would really appericate your comments...good or bad.

Oh and Merry Christmas!!

nick-

stormbind said:
My question is do digital cameras offer the resolution of a medium format camera? Can I make as large prints that are sharp and crisp with a digital camera?
The answer to this is quick and simple: No
As far as resolution quality, digital is only about a half of step behind 35mm. Digital is still very far behind MF. But before my reply seems to dimiss digital, what size prints are you looking to make? Digital may well suit your needs depending on the answer of that question. From a workflow point of view a digital is an invaluble tool if that is what you need it for. The following images were done with a Fuji S2 dslr, Nikon PB-4 bellows and a 105mm Nikkor lens. The quality and detail is great, but its limitations are how well those features will maintain making large prints. These images came off of the camera in jpeg format 32x21 inches @72dpi. For a digital, you can't knock it!

DSCF0181Medium.jpg

DSCF0179Medium.jpg

DSCF0186Medium.jpg