Film v Digital v HDR

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello... I am new to the Photo Forum... long time amateur photographer now in my 2nd phase.... I rode the film wave back in the 80s... veered off to the world of "family" digital for the 90s+...and have now veered back to the world of more serious digital and more serious film photography in a big way...

I have a Flickr page of course... and I post there many scans of my 35mm or 645 film transparencies and negatives....

Call it a crisis of confidence if you will... I think I am pretty good... for sure better than average... but... I get the sense that about 2/3 of the photos that get all the juice on Flickr (and probably elsewhere) are so heavily edited/effected/HDR'd that the photos I take just don't shine in comparison... as an example this is a shot made with a Nikon F5 (don't honestly recall which lens) with long expired Fuji Reala 200 35mm film.... I massaged the color some post scan but not much...
16122856659_d9646e47c0_k.jpg

I understand of course the basics (I think ? ) about composition, framing, contrast etc etc... I think others here must understand what I am saying... frequently my 35mm/645 negatives just don't hold up to the Nikon d810 shots I make...and that is understandable I suppose... but occasionally I get a negative or transparency that is just like WOW..... that is amazing ..like even better than the Nikon d810 .... but still ... none of my shots (digital or film) get the WOW remarks from Flickr users like the wildly edited photos seem to...

As a newcomer here, who really enjoys shooting film... I wonder if anyone might share thoughts on how I can share my shots to receive constructive critique or praise if merited ?

Apologies in advance if I have missed some other point of entry... sometimes I refuse to read instructions...

Thanks...

The vast majority of photos i see on flickr, aren't hdr. And that photo you posted is way cool.