Film vs. Digital SLR

SanctuS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I know this is an old topic that gets thrown around alot, but I just wanted to ask the question myself.
I own a Canon T2 film SLR, and I really like using it. I am just starting out and it is my first SLR. There are 2 things keeping me from getting a digital SLR.

1) The prices of digital SLR's are alot higher then film SLR's.

2) I have been told that the quality of the print made from film is whole lot better then one made from a digital camera, even a high MP one.

I guess my question is more along the lines if reason #2 is fact or fiction, and if I should be concerned about the quality of the print. Or at what megapixel does the difference become unnoticeable.

The money saved and the convenience is well worth the high cost of a DSLR. You will no doubt shoot more if the money of processing isn't a factor. High grain B&W prints aren't as good in black and white digital in my opinion. Due to the digital grain factor.

You should rent one for a weekend and see if its worth the switch for you.

Yeah, I saw a calculation somewhere that the price between Film and Digital cameras is leveled by a year's worth of film and development costs.

Talking about print quality is true at very large sizes, in very particular disciplines. Even most photographers can't tell the source difference - esp. those who declare one to be superior over the other.

I consider myself and advanced hobbyist (meaning I know a good amount, and use none of it to make a living) and I have yet to explore the outer reaches of digital's limits.

Image quality is a little bit like young guys sitting around a gas station and discussing the pros and cons of certain cars. Even the ones who can afford a certain high-end car only reach the performance envelope by mistake - most will never really know how fast it can really corner, where the traction point is, and all that geeky stuff.