Filter Holder Systems

phild2k

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I no longer trust my own judgement in this area having made several bad purchases in recent times. So I thought I would take it to the fine people of this community to offer some recommendations and, perhaps, even find consensus.

What is the best (yes, I know "best" is subjective) filter holder system for a 77mm thread?

Additionally, who, in your opinion, makes the best 100 x 100mm (4x4") filters (especially ND filters) from the following companies:
  • Formatt HiTech
  • Cokin
  • LEE
  • B+W
  • Singh-Ray
  • NiSi
  • Tiffen
Thank you!

I don't have experience with all of these, but...

Tiffen are low-end filters - so if you want "best" then that's out. Also I don't believe they make square slide-in filters (thread-on only).

B+W make very good filters, but so far as I know, they're also only round thread-on filters (not slide in filters for filter-holder systems).

I have no experience with NiSi.

Cokin are entry-level slide-in filters. The holder system is a bit cheap - but it works fine. I have one in the 84mm width and it doesn't get used anymore.