Finally a white background. C&C Please!!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by indeedies, Feb 17, 2010.

1. indeedies

indeedies TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    After trying this on my own and failing I did some searching and realized my mistake. Who knew you needed a second flash to expose the background :lol:. Anyway, hoping for some critique on what to do in the future. This was a self portrait so hoping when I do this for the family this weekend I can get some better.

[​IMG]

Now to completely expose myself as a noob here are the specs of this shot: 1/200 sec, F5.0, shot with the D90 and Sigma 28-70 2.8 and an ISO of 3200. I've never really messed with ISO before and when I was practicing yestereday forgot to turn it down before shooting today. Just one more thing to add to my notebook of "Stupid things to check before you push the shutter button".

Please be honest with your critiques. This forum has helped me a ton so far and I'm hoping to get better.

Thanks everyone!!

2. Noonz

Noonz TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I really like the shot, good stuff. The only thing i would suggest is getting the whole person/toy in the frame :D

3. Photo Phan

Photo Phan TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    funny pic!!!

4. indeedies

indeedies TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I agree and realized I should have just moved the entire setup back a few more feet. I was backed into the wall as it was. I will be doing this next time. Thanks for the second opinion :sexywink:

5. Samanax

Samanax TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Could you provide complete setup information please...how many flashes were used, what power setting was used, how were the flashes positioned, how far from the subject was each flash, if any light modifiers were used and exact camera and lens settings.

Did you want to shoot this at ISO 3200? Or was that the mistake? There is noise in the shadows areas and noise tends to kill detail.