finepix, or wait for a dslr?

Gregry254

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all, I am new to photography, I have always REALLY loved the idea of getting into it but I have never had the money!

I can either get a finepix s1800 now, or wait a while and get a dslr. . . what should I do? :(

Would I see much of a difference (except much less zoom) from the s1800 and something like a Nikon D3000?

Cameras within my price range are:

Fujifilm Finepix S1900 Digital Camera - Jessops

Nikon D3000 with 18-55mm VR Lens - Jessops

Canon EOS 1000D + 18-55mm Kit - Jessops

Sony Alpha a330 18-55mm Kit - Jessops

and at a huge push

Nikon D5000 + 18-55mm VR Lens - Jessops

Would rather get from Jessops as its the local shop that everyone seems to swear by.

I have several Minolta SLR 35mm film cameras and went to a Sony DSC_P71 several years ago. I just bought a new Fujifilm S1800 and like it for several reasons:

1) Much lighter than a SLR
2) Cost much less than a DSLR ($160)
3) I don't want to lug around a bunch of lenses like I did for years with the SLRs.
4) The 18x zoom is fantastic for my needs.
5) You can actually read and understand the downloaded manuals, unlike the Nikon & Canon.
6) It's a great little camera

It depends if you are going to invest into your future or not. Ask yourself what you are planning to do with the camera besides "taking pictures with my friends". Then ask yourself if the Fuji is capable of that. Chances are that if you really do want to get into photography, you will want to opt for the D3000 or 5000 depending on your income.
The most ideal thing is to have around $800.00 to spend if you really really want to get into this hobby. As you can see it's pretty darn expensive, but it's one hell of a good time.
Think twice before you buy.