First attempt at nature, RAW, editing c&c please

Plastic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Today I tried my first attempt at using my cheap Quantaray 70-300 telephoto lens to take nature photos. First time to shoot in RAW format and edit the pictures. What do you think? Be gentle, I'm a newb.
DSC_00670002.jpg

DSC_00700003.jpg

DSC_01210005.jpg

Not a bad start. You're focus seems soft, but that may be the lens. Also, the exposures seem a bit harsh, but that could be from the lighting conditions. What iso were you shooting?

The owl is the best, but there is alot of wasted space behind it, you might want to crop it. Nice work, keep at it.

Thanks for the comments. The iso was 400.

There seems to be a lot of noise in the pictures, or you have over sharpened them. This is especially evident in the background of the first shot. Nice shot of the owl. How did you get that?

Can't give any solid analysis of the image quality or any thing at this point since I am on my iPod touch but I just wanted to say that I really like that owl shot, it's an awesome capture. Keep doing what you're doing and you'll get some really nice shots!

I have that same lens for my pentax. I like it a lot. However my pictures come out a bit sharper then yours. I would say double check your camera settings. That is a great lens to take portraits with as it blurs out the background nicely. I like the lens cause I can do so much with it including macro of flowers. Great started lens and I love mine for the price and what I get out of it. Keep up the work and play around with the lens. Took me a bit to get used to it.