First camera for photo and videowork, $500-$600

djdelarosa25

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there! I'm a student, and I'm looking for my first camera. I will only be sticking with the kit lens, since my only aim is for casual photography and for casual videowork (we also make video projects at school, but the kit lens will do more than enough since our teachers won't expect top quality cinematography anyway).

I am fine with either DSLR or mirrorless. An articulated screen is a nice feature, and so is a touchscreen. Silent lens is a must. Good autofocus performance is also welcome.

Basically, a cheap camera that leans more into the video side, but is a solid performer for stills as well.

Thanks a bunch!

It's Saturday night not many are online that work with video a lot.

But "kit lens" and "Silent lens is a must" don't go together.
Unless the Nikon AF-Ps are silent enough not to be caught by the onboard camera microphones, unless you add an external mic. But I'm not a video expert.

Kit lens AF motor s aren't anywhere close to being silent when they AF.
I shoot video with a kit lens.

I use a Nikon AF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 G VR II.
I zoom the lens out to 55 mm, Auto focus on something quite distant, turn off AF so the camera is Manual focus mode and won't try to refocus, and usually then zoom back in to 18 mm and use 18 mm to shoot my video. I don't have to refocus at any time because the entire scene is in focus (I set the lens aperture to f/5.6) unless I try to shoot an extreme close-up.

The point is using that focus technique the lens doesn't change focus when I zoom in or out. Not all kit lenses will do that, and with my lens I can't AF at 18 mm, put it in Manual focus, and then zoom out to 55 mm and expect the zoomed out scene to be in focus.

With your budget look at a Nikon D5300 24.2 MP CMOS Digital SLR Camera with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II Auto Focus-S DX NIKKOR Zoom Lens (Black)