First Child Portrait Shoot, 1 Year Old

eric-holmes

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is my little nephew. It is my first attempt at shooting portraits of a child. All shots were used with natural lighting. C&C if you wish. Thanks for looking.

I realize that some digits or limbs may be cut off but this proved to be a much more difficult task than I thought. I was using my 50mm prime lens and not having the zoom at the touch of my finger hurt me.

Also, I might add, all images are un-cropped because I do not know what size the customer may want and I would hate to crop it poorly.

something about him reminds me of gene hackman lol dont ask me why.

#1 seems a bit soft

#4 is my favorite setting, have any more of him with the tree?

Yes, I have several of him by the tree. How is the sharpness on the others? Besides the last one.

i really like #3 and #4

These were all shot and edited in RAW format. I am still learning how to edit RAW's. I had the clarity set to 0 on all of these. Would it help to bump it up?

I wouldn't, not with these shots at least. You should probably bump the exposure as they're all a tad on the dark side and the fill light as his eyes are very dark in all of them, something that could be remedied by a reflector in the future. Get light up into the face.

#1 your DOF could have been slightly larger bringing the feet into focus.

On #2, I would have pushed his head up into the top 3rd of the frame and included his feet. Lots of empty space here over his head which draws attention to the fact the feet are cut off.

Similar with #3 though by removing the head space you'd still end up with a 3/4 portrait which would really work.

The poses and expressions are excellent in the first 3.

#4 doesn't work for me beyond being just a shot of a cute kiddo.