First critique

Ant

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
OK. I'm ready for my baptism of fire with some serious critique 8)

This photo has become one of my favourites and is currently my desktop wallpaper. The only thing I can think of for some improvement is maybe a slight crop on the top and the bottom, other than that I can't see how it can be improved....but then I'm a photo newbie so I'd like your honest input.

Thanks

P7100059.jpg

The only thing that I could suggest is straightening out the lean. I'm a terrible leaner so I have to fix that a lot. Other than that, it's a wonderful picture.

It's a nice photo.

The horizon is fairly tilted but that can easily be fixed. I would crop the runway out and maybe some of the sky off the top.

Maybe a little more saturation to bring up the color in the grass and the sky.

Also, I think that the people are not helping this photo. There are three of them but one is almost completely obscured and makes the guy in front look weird. Also, they are looking out of the frame at something. If they were looking at the plane or at the camera...I think it would be better.

Still it's a great shot of the plane itself. Do you have any more shots of it?

Thanks. I did notice the horizon lean, but due to the position of the guy on the far left I didn't think I could fix it without making it look worse due to his orientation to the edge of the photo.

I've got a couple more photos of that aircraft but none of them are particularly great. This is about the best one:

P7100116.jpg

I think the people are fine. I have a problem with the composition. It's too centered, and contains some unnecessary elements. Too much foreground for one. I don't think the road should be included, and then the sky is very boring with no clouds or anything. As was said previously, some more saturation will help that.

I might have come at this from another angle and included the people more prominently, becuase I think they fit the theme plenty well enough.