first day out with dSLR-- CC please :)

twostep376

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Went out for my first day yesterday with my new xsi. I had a total blast! I'm looking forward to getting better.

I'd love some constructive criticism on areas I can improve in:

4532929999_cb4de99517.jpg

4533515764_a21ce6e818_b.jpg

4532884175_457ea645e2_b.jpg

4533528006_fd909f9f2a_b.jpg

4533552572_9931659466_b.jpg

Last edited:
also.... I am new to post processing. I am using lightroom 2. I don't want to over do my images, but I do want them to pop. Any advice on PP would be more than welcome.

Wow... what were you using before this? You don't seem like a newbie to me! I love the colors on all your pictures, and really love the effect you caught on the waterfall, making it seem soft. I'm sorry I don't have any technical feedback, as I'm really new at this. What I do know is that I love your photos! I want to hang the one with the tulips on my wall!!

Wow... what were you using before this? You don't seem like a newbie to me! I love the colors on all your pictures, and really love the effect you caught on the waterfall, making it seem soft. I'm sorry I don't have any technical feedback, as I'm really new at this. What I do know is that I love your photos! I want to hang the one with the tulips on my wall!!

wow, thanks! :blushing:

before this I was using a simple point and shoot, but I always messed around with different settings. I feel like with a dSLR I have been set free to do what I want haha!

I have also been reading "Understanding Exposure" carefully, which has been immensely helpful.

These pics were shot at the Chicago Botanic Garden. CBG really deserves the credit for any good shots...the gardens are stunning there.

Last edited:
#1-- Great capture of the water drop falling. I like the fact that the water already is rippled from a previous drop. Nice framing, nice colors. Goodjob.