First Day with my new camera

Donjo3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I got my Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT last night, and right after I got home from school, I went out and shot around a bit. I noticed that when I turn the dial to "flash off", the shutter?(not sure if that is what its called) lags, alot. This hasn't happened in any of the other modes, just when the flash off is selected. Once again, I dont know if its the shutter, but when I press it halfway to focus, it focus's, and then when I press all the way, it takes the picture, but then it seems to 'freeze' up. Is this normal?

-Noob

I'm a beginner too, but I believe it is due to the fact that it needs more light, therefore it keeps the shutter open longer, letting more light in.

Normal...

If Flash is being used, the shutter is set to a sync speed assuming that the flash itself will provide enough light to properly expose the negative.

If flash is off, the shutter and aperture will set according to the camera's meter. If the situation is low light, a slower (than with flash) shutter speed is selected to properly expose the negative. Often the selected shutter speed is too slow to handhold in low light.

Wow, that should have been obvious, but once again, I'm very much a noob. Thank you, and be prepared for more stupid questions to come.

Keep your eye in the viewfinder for the shutter speed. Be aware at what focal length you are shooting at. Shutter speed should not be below 1/focal length (handheld). So for a 50mm lens ss should be 1/50th. For a 200mm lens 1/200th. Unless you are using an IS lens when you can shoot at much slower speeds than normal.

If you are getting slow shutter speeds remember you can increase the ISO. Each doubling of ISO means you get twice the shutter speed. Downside is images are more noisy.