First DSLR, Canon 7D - looking for guidance / suggestions

DMR921

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey all,

I just got my first DSLR, I have been holding out on getting one until the 60D went on sale again for $850 but last week I checked prices and the 7D body + lens kit was on sale for $1100 (down from $1700) so I picked one up.

I have always loved photography, but from a viewers perspective. I have very little knowledge about actually taking photos, and that's hopefully where you all come in! Where did you start when you first got into photography? I'm thinking I want to mostly shoot wildlife and nature, at least to start with because there is a nature reserve a block from my apartment. But with the standard kit lens (poor college kid budget right now) what would be ideal to shoot? Roughly what's the furthest you would want your focus to be at, distance wise?

I do not have a tripod right now, but I do intend to get one. Any other suggestions are greatly appreciated as well! Thanks :)

Here is a link to what I got: Canon EOS 7D DSLR Camera with 28135mm IS Lens Black 3814B010 - Best Buy

I would have waited a bit and get the new 7DII but I guess that too late now, they are saying the new camera is going to have a very interesting new sensor, the sensor on the current 7D is old and Canon is doing right by getting a new model and not a minute too soon.

Well I can tell you in regards to how to learn the basics.

I went to youtube and looked up videos explaning the first 3 basics

Shutter Speed
Aperture
ISO

Once you understad this continue to see more and more videos that explain more and more in debth photography.
nother way is by buying novice photography books or taking photography courses.
You might want to consider getting fast lens which will help limit the relative less impressive low light performance of the camera.