First DSLR

Aruzuriel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I guess this requires some back story, sorry. I'm a college student who has always had an interest in photography, lately that interest has really taken off and including taking some classes and even looking in to majoring in photography potentially. Anyways my parents have agreed to get me a camera seeing as they got my brother a car and my other brother a computer and me nothing like that. The only thing is they said I have to get it from Best Buy and they are willing to spend around $600 and potentially 800-900 if I contribute some of my own money.

Now I am wondering several things, should I convince them to purchase a the camera else where or would Best Buy be fine?

Also would it be better to buy a cheaper DSLR body and spend some money on a lens then buy a higher end one with a kit.

Now as to what camera I would actually get I am not sure. I have no brand preference and have done some research but still feel I could use some help on this one any ideas or input would be great.

Sorry about the length but if you need to know anything else or if I left something out let me know. I have to head to work soon but will be back as soon as I can. Thanks again.

I would spend the money on the lens ... I have always spent more money on my lenses as the camera body.

I have a Sony a100 ... not the best camera around, functionally ... I figure the body is worth about $400.00 ... I have spent about 4x that on my lenses.
I have replaced my kit lens (I got a good price on the kit vs. body only) with a better one after about a month.

You will get a number of different opinions on what is the best camera for $xxx.00 ... but remember, everyone here will always talk about lens quality.

Well that's what I have heard from the little research I did. Just wondering what are some good options for my price range and me being rather new to photography.