First Glitz shot CC Please

gigiphotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
glitz3.jpg

This is my first attempt at what the pageant world calls glitz shots. Just wondering if it's trash or if there might be something there.

I like it, nice job composing and posing. Did you do anything in post?

I agree with the focus being sharper, where was your focus point, or were you in auto-area letting the cmaera choose the focus point? Although it could be slight camera shake. Was this shot on a tripod? The exif reports 1/40 at 42mm. That may not be the issue, but I'll speak to it should it prove helpful to you (or anyone else) in case they have not heard this before:

A rule of thumb for overcoming camera shake is 1/focal length. So if your lens is at 42mm, the rule would be around where you had it (1/40). However, since there is a crop factor on some cameras (1.5 on the Nikon) that's a 35mm equivalent of 63mm (35mm film cameras is what the 1/focal length rule was created for). That would mean 1/60 for a steady shot. At 1/40 this puts the shot past the edge of being able to hold it steady.

Some folks can hand hold to lower speeds than others, and good holding technique can make a big difference, so that's just a guide to keep in mind. Also, a flash when appropriate for the shot will help (within reason). Add to the mix concerns of composition and the distraction of the joy of taking pictures of your cute kid and hand holding steady enough falls in the "things to remember" category that sometimes gets forgotten in the details of all the other shot concerns.

Sorry to go off on that tangent, but thought it might be useful info, even though it has been talked about before. Like I said, some folks reading this may not have heard that before.