First night bmx shoot!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by pbrr1der, May 10, 2010.

1. pbrr1der

pbrr1der TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I just got my camera like 2 days ago, so this is my first attempt at night action photos. Most of these were taken within the 1600-3200 iso range, really had no choice, and the flash on the body of my d5000. Please cc!

1. This was an experiment with the rear curtain flash. Cool IMO
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Sorry for all the pics, I got some more I'd like to post up so if you wanna see more check out my flickr!

2. I am Ivar

I am Ivar TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Interesting shots! One thing you might want to give a try is to let the ambient light blend in a bit more, try using slower shutter speeds with higher apertures (tripod recommended ;-)) and then flash to freeze the motion.

And try getting more out the compositions, you've got a skilled rider so make sure to get the most out of the shots. Pay attention to everything in the shot (including lights/shadows/backgrounds) and see how you can make them help you create a wicked image!

If you're really interested in doing more (nighttime) action stuff, you might want to look into getting some off camera flashes :)

Good luck!

3. pbrr1der

pbrr1der TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Thanx, yea a faster lens and an off camera flash would have helped out alot. When I slowed down the shutter speed a little bit, he would get blurry, even with the flash so I was having to max the shutter out at 1/200 which is as fast as it could go with a flash to get a decent sharp image. Besides the first pic of course.

4. shmne

shmne No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit