First Pic Post Here

Nikon Fan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
This is my first time to post a pic on this forum. I posted this same pic on another forum today, but I would really like to have more opinion. So please critique away. No photoshop was used.

Jenedit.JPG

I like the pose, but the lighting seems a tad harsh on her face thus there is a lot of detail loss on her forehad, cheeks and chin. What lighting set up did you use?

I shot this at the college I attend, in their makeshift studio (basically a classroom w/a few lights). Anyway, I wasn't really sure how to go about lighting, so I just played with different setups. I agree that the lighting is quite harsh, but the print itself looked much better than the computer does it justice for. If I were a photoshop kind of gal I would tone it down, but I'm not, so if anyone wants to play with it feel free!!!!

The skin tones appear to have some red left in them, and the lighting is too bright on her face.

What was your lighting arrangement? The catchlights in her eyes through me off a little. The positions are inconsistent. One looks as though it came straight on, the other catchlights (located at the 10 o'clock and 2 o'clock positions) confuse me. I would expect them to both be at 10 o'clock or 2 o'clock depending on where the other light source was located.

Keep in mind I'm brand new to photography, so I'm not sure exactly what the lights are called and all that, but the main light, was to the left of me, so to the right of her, and then the other light which I think was a fill light, I'm not really sure on that though, was off to my right, her left. Both lights were about 4-5 feet away from the subject. There was also a hair light, and then a light that was placed on the background. I have more pics with the lights in the same spots just positioned differently. I will post a few of them. Also keep in mind that these were shot in black and white kodak film, and processed at walmart.