First pictures.. Please C&C

eurytopic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been taking pictures as a hobby for a while now - but want to get a bit more serious about the art. I picked up a Nikon D300 and am using the kit lens from my old D70 (18-70mm). These pictures are from the first serious outing with the D300, a vacation to Cancun. Some photos are cropped, some have a bit of color correction done in iphoto. I also have Photoshop CS3, but for quick and dirty correction iphoto is stupid easy and fast!

DSC_0471.jpg

DSC_0521.jpg

DSC_0523.jpg

IMG_1562.jpg

but for quick and dirty correction

That makes me laugh. :D

Hi, welcome to TPF. Nice shots, I really like 2 and 3 in particular. I think all could do with a fair bit more contrast, (fear not, this is my warcry). That's a nice kit you've got yourself there, I'll look forward to more shots.

I'm just a beginner, so I really don't have any criticism for you. I just wanted to say that I love number 3.

Great work. I specially like #2. #3 is good too, but I think if the background was also in focus, like how you did #2 it would be even better and also show more of the left side, because after I look at the statue, my eyes tend to go left wanting to see more of the sunset or whatever is over there....

Dang, if you had a bigger version of number 3 up there it would so be my desktop picture for the next month. Well...I guess you could say it "speaks" to me (man I hate sounding so corney) I think it would benefit if you cropped out the column on the far left side. I think that might be what's drawing cnvang's eye over there.

2 and 3 are both very nice. I might boost some saturation, contrast, etc. and do a bit of sharpening, but the captures themselves are great.

I want to like 4, but it doesn't quite work for me... I think I'm expecting the colors to pop more, but I also feel like the sand is a bit too much dead space.