First Post!

KangarueTheDay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello! This is my second post on TPF. I'm pretty new to photography and would love to start getting some constructive criticism. I took this in South Africa and got lucky with the giraffe's position. Go easy on me! Haha.

IMG_0865_zpstgzwnnnw_1.jpg

Not bad at all. There's not a lot you can do with wild animals in their invironment. They go where they want and when they want. If you have a program such as Adobe's Lightroom, might be worth trying to drop the background highlights a bit and raise the shadow on the giraffe, but otherwise, not much to say.

Welcome to TPF!!

You'll find that the critiques here CAN be a little tougher than what you get in a lot of places, but stick with it, and you'll also find it will help you improve your skills!

You're right, you got a nice pose from the giraffe in this shot--and how fortunate to be able to go somewhere like South Africa, lots of photo ops I'm sure!

My suggestions/thoughts about this photo:
1. Consider cropping so that the giraffe is not right in the middle of the frame. With that long, thin profile, lining it up along the right "rule of thirds" line would enhance the photo, imo. Or, you might consider a portrait crop, to focus in more on the giraffe.
2. A lot of the giraffe is in shadow. I'd select the giraffe and see if you can do a curves adjustment or some dodging to lift those shadows.
3. The yellow grass seems really, really saturated. Was that how it actually looked? Even if it was, it's so bright it draws the eye away from the giraffe. I'd consider toning down the saturation on it.