First real attempt at a portrait

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Gaerek, Oct 23, 2009.

1. Gaerek

Gaerek TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I haven't really done much portrait work, besides candids. But, my wife wanted to get some Halloween portraits of our 6 month old in her costume, so I obliged. This was shot with my 50mm 1.8, on my XTi. The sun was about 45 minutes from setting, so there was some very nice warm light coming from the right side of the frame. This was shot at f/3.2, at 1/125sec at ISO 200. As a father, I absolutely love this shot, and I know it's going to have a place in the ol' family album for a long time. However, as a photographer, I have a bunch of nitpicks. First, her face is out of focus. Second, that leaf in front of her is so sharp, it's distracting. Also, there seems to be a lot of blown highlights. I burned down a bunch of them, especially on the pumpkin on the right, but there's only so much that can be done. I did use my 430EX II flash for fill, but I'm not sure it was needed. I probably should have still used it, but turned it down a bit. C&C Appreciated! Thanks.

[​IMG]

2. BmDubb

BmDubb TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Nice shot.. Just looks a little " Dull ". Not sure why I dont see any real techincal issures

3. Felix0890

Felix0890 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    This would look better if you lowered yourself to his eye-level. Other than that, it's adorable! :)

4. bigtwinky

bigtwinky No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Definatly one for the family album.

I find the image is too centered and too straight on. Look at different composition to get rules of portraiture and think about shooting closer up, at angles, higher, lower, etc..

5. BmDubb

BmDubb TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit