First Shot With Off-Camera Flash Indoors - X-Mas Photos (C&C)

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by MikeLem, Dec 6, 2009.

1. MikeLem

MikeLem TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    This was a paid shoot, but since I'm a newbie with off-camera lighting, I figured I'd post it here. I shot some with a reflector, but I liked the more dramatic look without it. Here are a few. C&C appreciated.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. indeedies

indeedies TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Number two is great!! "Better check yourself foo!!!" Too bad the backround is so distracting. I'm sure the parents will like though regardless. Nice shoot for your first time.

3. Derrel

Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

Photos OK to edit
    Hey Mike,
    I think these look a bit too dark and moody for Christmas tree shots. The white balance varies between the first two shots is a bit different,with the first shot having a bit of a yellow-green skin tone that I don't like. The third shot is sort of a crotch shot of the dad, and I'm not fond of the pose, which I think is pretty unflattering.
    I've shot some Christmas light stuff before,and I think there's a somewhat better approach than the one you took, which was ISO 400 at f/5 at 1/160 second with flash and a 50mm lens. First off, the small aperture and fast shutter speed render the out of focus highlights of the lights as very small dots of light, and the tree itself is not really rendering--the exposure is too fast for the ambient, and the flash itself is a bit underpowered.