First Shots With D40

Copacetic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I think this is the right place to post this, if not let me know!

I just got my Nikon D40 yesterday, and spent the better part of the afternoon playing around with it. None of my shots are anything special, especially composition-wise, but I thought I'd post a few up anyway. I used the Nikon D40 with 55-200m VR lens for all of these. Critique is welcome, and appreciated!

(hosted on Flickr)

2690792657_11ca2650b5_o.jpg

This dragonfly I caught flitting about around 15 feet away, I used manual focus and zoomed all the way in to 200mm to get these shots.

2690814027_de7cca9027_o.jpg

2690806281_8188bd2ca4_o.jpg

2691609888_2c3c11b8c3_o.jpg

These were taken at about 7:30PM or so, in failing light. The horses are my neighbors'. All shots have had Curves tweaked in Photoshop, and the dragonfly was sharpened.

Thanks,

Josh

I'm no expert but I like your shots, especially for being your first shots with the D40. I wish I could say the same for my first (couple thousand :lol:) shots :playball:. I really like the way the background blurs (known as bokeh) in the last couple horse shots and how clear all the shots are :thumbup:.

Like potownrob I wish my first shots (or the ones I'm taking now) were that good!

I think #4 is great! Nice color and good bokeh.

Background on the dragonfly seems a little distracting to me though.

Thanks for the kind words! Just to note, though; you should see the shots I didn't post. :D

I agree, the brightness/color of the background is distracting in the shot of the dragonfly. It was flitting back and forth between two twigs, here is a shot of it on the other, with a frontal view:

2691606540_247958dd51_o.jpg