First SLR (Canon XTi) - Upgrades for the lens?

guitarlp

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm a complete newb when it comes to SLR's and photography in general so I was hoping someone could help me out.

I just ordered the Canon Rebel XTi online. It comes with the Canon 18-55mm EF-S Lens. Being the newb that I am, this should be a good starting point. But I've read that the stock lens doesn't have any sort of image stabilization to help with camera shake. So... what alternatives do I have? I don't want to carry around a bunch of lens' wherever I go. I'd like to have 1 good lens that works well in most situations.

Also, I've read that filters can help protect the lens. Does anyone have any recommendations on a good filter? Or will pretty much any filter work and there's not much of a difference in quality between makes/brands?

I'd suggest keeping your kit lens for a while. Seeing that your new to it.

Hmmm, that depends on how much you want to spend.
Th 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM is quite a nice lens and can be found for around £625. The 24-105 f4 L IS USM is around £600, as is the 70-200 F4 L IS USM.

Sigma do a stabilised range as well. An 18-200 f3.5-6.3 (£375), an 80-400 f/3.5-4.5 (£890)

The 24-105 from canon is a great lens, but I've got a couple of Sigmas and I love them. I haven't used any of the ones I've listed above, although I've heard nothing but praise for them.

Filter wise, if all you are after is a filter to protect the lens, look for a skylight (Hoya make good ones) You'll need one for each lens and they range from about £10 to £30 depending on size.

Hope that helps

Get the 50mm f1.8. I regret not getting the XTI over my D40 for the entire reason of the 50 1.8 lens. Suppossed to be really sharp, really fast and, really inexpensive.

...50 1.8 lens. Suppossed to be really sharp, really fast and, really inexpensive.

well, it's really inexpensive anyway.
when you say fast, i guess you're referring to the big aperture.