First Time - C&C Please!

clintd

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok guys, this is my first post…but it is also my first time out shooting. These were taken at a local park. The subjects are my beautiful wife and my 6 year old adopted sister.

I was shooting with a Canon EOS 2000 35mm SLR (non-digital) with the 28-80 mm kit lense...shooting 400 speed film. I borrowed it from my parents to use for practice. Being a film camera, the shots are a little grainy...and I should have used 200 speed film at most. I am planning to buy a DSLR in the near future. These were all shot on either fully automatic or the automatic portrait setting. I have done a little PP, but not much. Mostly just some auto color enhancer and a slight bit of dash & burn on their faces using The Gimp.

Give me your honest C&C…I am a complete Noob, but I am eager to learn.

1. I know the sky and part of the background are very blown out. It was a bright sunny day. Also, this shot could have used a shallower DOF. And, I know that I cut off my wife's foot, and due to the pose, it looks as if she has no left arm...which she does.

SK-18X12scaleddown.jpg

2. Same shot as above, just a tighter crop.

SK-12X8scaleddown.jpg

3. I know that this shot would have benefited from a shallower DOF. Also, I wish I hadn’t cut my sister’s hand off in the shot. Again, sky and background are blown out, as is my wife’s skin a bit.

SK-Tracks1-scaleddown.jpg

4. I think this shot turned out really to be really neat…although it was an accident. Somehow, I missed the focus on them entirely. Instead the focus is on the tracks at the base of the image. But, I think it works. Again, sky is blown out.

SKTracksBW-14X15scaleddown.jpg

C&C per req: