austriker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.dlindahlphotos.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi,
so for my school newspaper i interviewed one of my friends who mixes music as a DJ and then shot some photos of him. I have a bunch of him in action so i went over to his house to get some of him portrait-style. i have never done this type of photography, i dont really like to shoot people when they know im taking photos of them/i dont even really like people photography.. im kinda new to photography, i have been only shooting with my d40 for about 10 months.

i used my d40 and my two lenses (50mm 1.8 and 18-55mm kit lens) and an old film strobe flash that really made the difference i think.

tell me what you guys think, give me some critiques.. remember honesty makes me better..

these are my favorite 3:

1. i have heard this shot should have him in focus not the board, but i think this way its more intentional and so cliche
3995213336_28a11d63b3_b.jpg

3994453623_79d2f8bcd8_b.jpg

3. this is my fav by far- i really think it worked out, especially the pp.
3994893556_d6ae58be1f_b.jpg

cheers!

1 is neat, but im not quite sure how to approach it context wise. 2 comes off a bit cheesy because of the crossed arms/head up cocky type look that i feel when people are "trying to be cool"

3, however, i think is brilliant. a dj to me should present a calm, cool, relaxed, fun personality. i get that from this shot. it feels very natural and doesnt come off forced or posed.

Unflattering angles in all photos:(

also, be mindful of your background. windows, gear cases, and wall seems and sockets are distractions.

1 is neat, but im not quite sure how to approach it context wise. 2 comes off a bit cheesy because of the crossed arms/head up cocky type look that i feel when people are "trying to be cool"