First time ever trying birds in flight. Any good?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by DemonAstroth, Mar 1, 2010.

1. DemonAstroth

DemonAstroth TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    So with the 70-200 I didn't have much chance of trying to catch birds in flight, and most of my shots were horridly blurry.

These are taken with a 70-300, which I have read many comments here in the forum doubting its quality. Sure it's not an L, but I don't think it's so bad. Maybe L snobs?

Anyway, as for the shots this is my first time ever. I know that these are pretty exotic birds not commonly seen, but hey it's a start. :lmao:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I do see some of the artifacts from the water bokeh that some complain about. I actually find them pleasing in the picture, adding to the agitation of the water crashing. It's such a handholdable lens that I'm starting to like it even better than the 70-200. L or no L

Not much pp was done to this, except from WB and tone changes. I did have to delete a few dust spots in my camera. Anyone knows how to clean it up so as not having to do the pp in EVERY picture taken?

CC always welcome.

2. fokker

fokker No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    I think the shots look great. Obviously, kinda boring a bit as they're boring birds and even an amazing shot of a seagull, is still only going to be 'meh'. But that aside, the focus and exposure looks good and no real complaints with composition. You could have maybe gone for a slightly higher shutter speed in the last one to get rid of the wingtip blur, though not always an option with that lens. It is a good lens though, I use it and for the price I paid I couldn't be happier really.

3. Santa Gertrudis

Santa Gertrudis TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I think the second and third one are your keepers. None are too bad though in my opinion.

4. pbelarge

pbelarge TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit