First Time Shooting a Live Music Performance, Low-Light Inside

HeldInTheMoment

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
13317009_852428304862927_2997409946311904941_o.jpg

Could kindly use some help and advice on how to improve this edit. It was my first time shooting a live music event indoors. Stopped for a beer at a local Brewery after a family portrait shoot and was offered the opportunity to shoot their event as they didn't have a photographer. Even though I had no experience with this style of shooting, I never turn down a chance to further my experience and learn new skills.

Never the less, this was one of the photos taken that night. I felt the B&W was a good fit for this shot. Any advice?

Nice framing. Yes, B&W works for me here. Are you shooting in raw? It is a must in these conditions to bring up shadows in post. A small amount (1/8 to 1/4) of manual flash fill from onboard flash is real helpful for me. I am not an expert but this would be my approach.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Nice framing. Yes, B&W works for me here. Are you shooting in raw? It is a must in these conditions to bring up shadows in post. A small amount (1/8 to 1/4) of manual flash fill from onboard flash is real helpful for me. I am not an expert but this would be my approach.

Yes, I most certainly shoot in RAW...I have one SD card slot recording in RAW and the other in JPEG (saves me time in converting later). All edits are done from RAW with Lightroom only, no PS.

The lighting at this event was horrible...no stage lights and I was unable to use any flash. So I had to work with ambient light, which was next to nothing. The brewery was dark with minimal lighting, nice for a relaxed brewery feel but bad for things like this. It was in the evening and the window behind him had the sun beaming straight in, which made WB and exposure interesting given the conditions I had.