First time trying to post a photo

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by whyknows, Apr 21, 2010.

1. whyknows

whyknows TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello, this ismy first time trying to post photos... I really liked the contrast with the black fence and the rust on the chain. I bought a set of macro filters and this is my first try at macro, I was kind of excited to see how it came out. I am a brand new photographer and would love your feedback.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. LaFoto

LaFoto Just Corinna in real life Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    At first I thought: "Hang on, this IS NO maco-photo!", but then I scrolled and sure enough, there is one.

So posting the photos went well, they show, I can see them ... and I think those contrasts between black fence and rusty chain could be brought out even MORE. Particularly as it were the CONTRASTS you liked so, and this photo is lacking a little in those with regards to the technique. I take it you are posting a SOOC-photo (straight out of camera), no post processing applied? But the first asks for some pp. I can hear it!

As you can see, maco (more so with filters, I guess) gives you a very shallow DOF (depth of field) only, which I find a tad distracting here. The effect is almost like a lensbaby effect (a lensbaby is a special lens ... that I can't describe just now). I usually find it a bit strenuous on my eyes, but they are only mine. Others might like this a lot.

3. whyknows

whyknows TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Thank you for all your great information!! It IS straight out of the camera, I JUST bought Adobe Photo Shop and loaded it last night. I am going to try to work on the contrast :) I have been watching how to do touch ups on youtube, so I sort of have an idea on what to do. If I get an improvement, I will post it. Thanks again so much for your feedback!

4. SwissJ

SwissJ TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit