First time with the camera

VaE39

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Finally! After getting the D80 with the 18-55 kit lens I went out and took some photos. Went to NYC to visit a friend and took some shots there. I'm new to photography so give me any criticisms to help me out. I started a flickr account and everything

http://www.flickr.com/photos/24364200@N04/

My question is... how much post processing do you guys normally do? These pictures are straight out of the camera with no processing. Thanks for giving it a look.

Finally! After getting the D80 with the 18-55 kit lens I went out and took some photos. Went to NYC to visit a friend and took some shots there. I'm new to photography so give me any criticisms to help me out. I started a flickr account and everything

http://www.flickr.com/photos/24364200@N04/

My question is... how much post processing do you guys normally do? These pictures are straight out of the camera with no processing. Thanks for giving it a look.

First, I do almost zero post-processing except for occasional cropping.

Second, don't look for critiques yet. There's a lot to learn about that camera. I suggest that you take some shots with the PhD (Push here Dummy) modes first. See User Manual page 24. Then, experiment with shutter priority and aperture priority, pages 48 and 49.

I agree with Socrates (he is a great thinker).

I on the other hand, do process. Sharpening contrast curves is pretty standard for me, but everyone is different.

I think your brooklyn bridge photo is stunning. Other than that, learn some of the rules of composition and what not. I think you have a nice eye for subjects though.

Keep shooting, you will get it