fisheye with 1.6x crop factor

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by mxracer32, Nov 11, 2008.

1. mxracer32

mxracer32 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    ive searched the site and found a lot of threads pertaining to this, but they were either out-dated, or had unanswered questions so heres my stab at this..

im shooting with a canon 20d which has a 1.6x crop factor. I want a fisheye, the more distortion the better. I am not a professional. I like to shoot for fun on vacations, trips, and motocross (see avatar?) im looking in the $350-$450 range(would like to stay under 400, but 50 bucks isnt going to stop me) i know there is the peleng 3.5\8mm for around $380 in ebay but it has had mixed reviews (lense cap) and is a manual focus. that isnt a 'deal breaker' for me, but if i can get something else that will give me good distortion\barrel on photos with, or even without af, id rather go with that. ive shot with a sigma 10-22 and was not satisfied when used with my 20d (though i did shoot with a mark-1 and liked it much more) i want a fisheye, not a wide angle. hopefully this fully explains my situation and will help you all, help me! thanks!

2. JerryPH

JerryPH No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Look at the Sigma lenses, they have a few nice fisheye lenses.

I saw a Nikon 10.5mm fisheye this past sunday, and MAN I was impressed by the lack of distortion, just a smoooooooth curve to it all. If I wasn't going into the D700 and what not, the fisheye would be looking good today.

The thing I do not like is that fisheye lenses are great as a novelty and especially in the beginning. After that they get put in the bag and used once a year, just becuase we feel bad paying all that cash and not using it.

I'd suggest you rent out one for a weekend before plunking your money down... just to see if it is as useful as you may feel it is. :)

3. Jeff Canes

Jeff Canes No longer a newbie, moving up!