Flash and Tripod Thoughts?

Wfpinky

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I still feel like I'm a newbie to photography, but I'm really starting to get curious about speedlights since I shoot inside quite a bit with my Nikon and I'd like to shoot at night more. What little research I've done on them has delivered an overwhelming amount of information (which is why I haven't done a whole lot of research). I know there's a big learning curve when it comes to flashes, but I'm definitely willing to learn. I'm a working college student, so I can't shell out a ton for one unfortunately, but if you guys wouldn't mind pointing me in the right direction of what I should at least look at getting I could start saving. Or even better, if anyone knows of a site that sells second-hand ones for a decent price I'd appreciate that as well :).

This also applies to tripods as well, any input would be awesome. Seriously, I'm a total newb haha.

Adorama, B&H, and KEH all sell used equipment.

If you want to save money, get an inexpensive speedlight and tripod. Eventually you should think about mounting the flash on its own light stand (getting it away from your camera) and a shoot-through umbrella.

What kind of subjects and situations are you working with and what's a rough overall budget that you've got in mind to work with.

Giving an idea of the subjects and situations you want to work with/in is key - indoor and nighttime as subjects are far to broad for us to really know what it is you're wanting to take photos of so its hard to suggest ideas as to solutions and equipment to solve problems your encountering.

Similarly a rough idea of budget helps a lot in giving a starting point for equipment suggestions.